WK15 – ARTIST CONVERSATION

Artist:  Jay Hongvarivatana, Alexander Sia, Nga Nguyen

Exhibition: Mixed Aesthetic

Media: Illustration/ Animation

Gallery: Marilyn Werby Gallery

This week’s exhibition is called “Mixed Aesthetic", so I didn’t really talk to an specific artist. In stead of writing about one artist, I decide to talk about my opinion after seeing several artists’ works.

DSC_0232DSC_0245

This exhibition is my favorite one since beginning of the semester because I love to watch animations and play video games. In the exhibition, I saw so many animation characters which were created by different artists. Each artist has their own style, some characters look super cool, some look cute, and some look scary. I felt like was in a animation world surrounding by all kinds of animation characters.

The first artist I noticed was Nga Nguyen, her drawing style was fantasy, most of the characters in her works are animals. There is a cat bartender, an elephant waiter, and a cat cafe. She also created a cute character called Henry.

DSC_0236

The second artist is called Jay Hongvatana. From his works I can know that he likes to adventure. He created a character called Monkey King which looks pretty cool. He also draw two taco trucks battling each other with their “taco cannon". And there is a knight batting with a giant snake.

Jay also mention that “All children are artists. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up." This made me think that people who follow their dream since childhood are brave and admirable.

DSC_0237

The third artist is called Alexander Sia. Most of Alexander’s works are relate to death, there are skeleton, spider, and centipede. In his introduction, he only said “Don’t drink soda."- Mom & Dad. that makes me think the artist must be a cool person.DSC_0235

DSC_0243

 

發表迴響

